I never would have guessed but running is really starting to develop appeal for me.  Since a successful accumulation of 6.5 miles last week, I have repeated the effort this week.  One short outing was 1.14 miles in just under ten minutes.  A second 5.5 mile run lasted 52:35.

I was especially thrilled by the latter run – burning off body heat in a misty drizzle.  I felt the exhilarating enthusiasm other runners have warned me about.  There were moments when my legs were like water-logged stumps.  Then, I would experience an energy burst – inspired by a song on the playlist – and I wanted to go on forever.

A very long time ago (high school soccer tryouts), I aimed at a six minute mile.  I am nowhere near that time now but I feel much better trying.

I’ll run ’til I’m done.

Leave a Reply

