The official celebration of gratitude is a few weeks away but I think I’ll get a head start.  One day just isn’t sufficient when there is so much for which one can be thankful.  I think there are at least enough wonders – small and grand alike – that will inspire my appreciation in to next month and beyond.

Beautiful Girls

I am the very proud father of two daughters.  They are both sources of joy, laughter, challenge and tears.  As they begin their teen years, I am amazed witnessing their constant cycle of trial and triumph.  I strive to be a good father to them and only hope that they are well served by my attempts.  I work hard to make sure they become the best women they can be but they have already made me a better man.

Endless Summer

I haven’t really paid attention to the rest of the nation but the weather here in the Chicago area has been glorious – brisk mornings, warm evenings, and skies brilliant with the midday sun.  The cold may be just around the corner.  I don’t care.  I’ve been able to run and play tennis deep into the night (late enough to see a shooting star or something like it).  I love the change in seasons this climate zone provides but I’ll take this manner of autumn anytime.

TV Sets

Collections of television series, that is.  I don’t really watch much during the week as I am helping with homework, washing dishes, or collapsing from exhaustion (I’ve got a 1-2hour commute each way to work).  I also don’t like to watch when I don’t know what’s going on after missing episodes.  So, hello, good friends and online streaming.  A good friend has lent me the entire HBO series, The Wire.  Netflix has been hit up for Numb3rs. I’ll watch Chuck at nbc.com once it premieres soon.  Relaxing engagement on my own terms can’t be beat.

There is an abundance of well-being and good fortune surrounding us.  Satisfaction is easy to find in the deeply divine and the merely mundane.  And for this, I am grateful.  Thanks for reading.

4 responses »

  1. […] a marathon and complete a triathlon within the next five years. So while the weather has remained pleasant enough, I would like to get out there training once again.  I am so happy to be active in my life after a […]

  2. […] I said last time, I have thoroughly enjoy the warmer weather we’ve in Chicago-land lately. But the chill has […]

  3. Karen says:

    What a wonderful post! We all need to see the good things in life and be thankful for them everyday, even if work commitments take up a lot of our energy! I’ve watched all 4 seasons of Mad Men on Netflix, and I don’t want to have to watch any TV series on a week-to-week basis anymore! Who has the time to commit to that when there are so many nightly duties to do and enjoyable moments with family? I would watch an episode at 5am while I was getting ready and an episode or two at night before bed-the only times of day that belong to me. 🙂

    • Ty says:

      Thanks for your comments. Finding moments seems like all you can do but those moments mean so much.
      My wife has been a Mad Men junkie lately too. I guess I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

