Another week of securing my attitude of gratitude.  I have been exhausted this week.  But knowing I have this one place to express my self is very comforting.

 

Reminder to Run

As the fall quickens to winter (it snowed today), I am wondering if my urge to run can overcome my inertial dread of the cold.  The dark hours are multiplying and the chill in the air  compels me to remain indoors.  I was inspired, however, by these lovely pictures of the New York City Marathon.  I imagine that my upcoming participation in a local Turkey Trot with be blessed with as much natural beauty and human spirit.  Now that I am recovered from a recent cold/cough/whatever, I know I  need to get some training in.  I am thankful for the motivation.

 

Four-Color Fun

I am a big fan of comic books.  They are simply a pleasure.  Over the years, my tastes have certainly changed. Full-bleed super heroics (Avengers) made way for black and white independence (Cerebus).  Dark edged mythologies (The Sandman) were replaced by cartoonish adventures (Bone).  Retro science fiction fantasy (Tom Strong) was accompanied by an appreciation for memoir (Blankets).  All told, I just love the way the form allows for a unique brand of storytelling.  I am thankful that I have recently discovered new tales to capture my attention (Daytripper, Incorrruptible, Meanwhile, etc.).

 

Musical Movement

I haven’t got much of an ear for music.  At least, I don’t have the fine discriminating sense to know what is truly beautiful sound.  I do know, however, what moves me.  I can tell that a particular voice stirs my soul, that a certain tonal phrasing sparks my imagination.  Every once in a while, I am even moved to tears as a song plays on the radio.  “Never Would Have Made It” (Marvin Sapp) and “I Understand” (Smokie Norful) each brought a deep memory of my deceased grandparents powerfully to my mind.  “Just The Two Of Us” (Bill Withers) takes me back to dancing with my new-born daughter.  Just a few weeks ago, U2’s “Running To Stand Still” had me welled up for no apparent reason at all.  I am grateful for these and other resonances.

 

Until next time…

Thanks for reading.

One response »

  1. […] Three Thanks This Thursday (5) (worldazis.wordpress.com) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "7dbaea"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "d8eaf9;"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "111111"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "3c96df"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "3c96df"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "health"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "base"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "reflex"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "chicago"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "experienced"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "linkedin"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "minithon"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "motivation"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "postaweek2011"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "running"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "sports"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "thanksgiving"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "turkey-trot"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Rate this: Bounce this signal:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

