Just 10 days to go – less than two weeks to prepare for the Turkey Trot.  It will soon be time to face my nemesis.

You see, my very first run was at a Turkey Trot on the Chicago lakefront several years ago.  My wife had convinced me to join her and I lovingly accepted.  No training, a complete misunderstanding of the total length, and one beat up pair of shoes – all of these contributed to the most appetite-inducing day of pain a Thanksgiving can be.

But, that’s what got me started.  I have had an on again, off again love for running ever since.  It is a challenge to get out there in the cold, in the dark, in the cold (oh, i said that).  I have an ally, however, in the person of my friend Mario Wiggins.  I bumped into him one morning as I dropped my eldest off at school.  He was in mid-run but took a moment to describe his training goal.  He is preparing to run a 5k in every single state!  I may have the distance wrong but it could be a 50 yard sprint in all fifty.  I would still be impressed by the dedication.

So, I began this year with my Monday minithon (at least one mile a week).  That has since been amended to “Run ’til I’m Done” (prepping for each competitive distance until I’ve completed a marathon).  When I make it to that finish line, I will count Mario among those I thank.

 

For more about Mario and his other motivational ventures, click the link below.

Coach Me Workshops Inc.

One response »

  1. […] Training for the Trot (worldazis.wordpress.com) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "7dbaea"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "d8eaf9;"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "111111"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "3c96df"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "3c96df"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "health"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "family"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "reflex"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "chicago-bears"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "experienced"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "holiday"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "linkedin"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "love"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "minithon"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "postaweek2011"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "thanks"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "thanksgiving"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "turkey-trot"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Rate this: Bounce this signal:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

