3/365

Let me start by dutifully informing you that I am no chef.  Those who know me may even add this is an understatement.  While I have acquired confidence in a handful of dishes, my imaginary cuisine is of dramatically higher quality than my real-life menu.  Yet, I continue to put my nose to the grindstone or my pan to the flame as it were.  Someday soon, I would like to have a repertoire of a week’s set of three meals and maybe a reliable dessert.

Recently, I have been attracted to salads and relishes.  I think I find the ease and variety appealing.  In the spirit of sharing, I offer the following recipe.  Perhaps, I will add a few more in the weeks ahead.

Pepper-Corn Salad

Ingredients:

Three bell peppers (I prefer the multicolor or ‘stoplight’ package)

Two or three ears of corn (One can is a serviceable substitute in a pinch)

1/4 cup Dijon mustard

Two tablespoons Agave nectar (or honey)

Two tablespoons Balsamic vinegar (red wine vinegar works, as does raspberry vinegar for a sweeter touch)

Black pepper to your taste

 

Directions:

Roast the corn (I like to have the ears pre-soaked in the husk in water for about one half-hour) on a gas grill.  I haven’t timed the corn but I use a medium flame and turn the corn twice after allowing the husk to char.  This is usually long enough for the water in the husks to steam into the corn kernels.

20120103-225205.jpg

While the corn is on the grill, I clean and dice the peppers (seeds removed).  I also mix the dressing ingredients – mustard, vinegar, nectar, black pepper – in a large bowl.  What ever container you use, be sure there is room to toss all of the corn and peppers.

When the corn is done, I remove the husk and silk from the ears.  Then, on a large plate (and careful of the heat), I cut the cobs in half.  Placing the new flat end to the plate, I cut the kernels from the cob.

The corn and peppers are mixed together in the dressing.  I make sure the dressing covers the corn and peppers as evenly as possible.

20120103-225244.jpg

I serve the salad hot with a grilled salmon or a toasted sandwich. It is equally enjoyed, however, after chilling overnight.

 

If this finds your tastes pleased, let me know.  If you put your own twist or have a recommendation for recipes, I’m open to those also.

Until next time, eat up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

