5/365

I love to read.  I have since I was about two years old.  It is a trait I would very much like to pass on to my girls.  Given the evidence of this winter break, I think my wife and I have been successful.  By keeping the television viewing to a minimum and limiting the use of electronic games, the girls find few options but to interact with one another – making things, playing with dolls and board games, and playing music – or they read.

Lately, I have also had the urge to read with and to them.  They are older and don’t need ‘bedtime stories’ as such.  But they still enjoy a narrated tale every now and again.  It has proven to provide a truly satisfying bond between us.  The book we are currently engrossed in is The Invention of Hugo Cabret.  The recently released film looks exciting but the experience of the book is unique and requires real page turning.  Combining text and narrative illustrations, the thick story has kept us eager to return each night.

In the spirit of father-daughter reading, I thought these Three Things would be worth a view.

1. The inspiration, perhaps, for my urge to read to the girls was sparked by this story of a man (librarian) who pledged to read to his daughter for 100 days and found himself continuing for nearly nine years straight. http://www.npr.org/2011/06/18/137223191/father-daughter-reading-streak-lasts-nearly-9-years

2. As my daughters are getting older (soon to be young adults if not already), I hope for their literary lives to be as rich, challenging, and entertaining as I consider mine.  In addition to classic and traditional choices from school, I like to encourage them to find other texts in which they can engage.  I may not always agree with the subject matter or writing style of their choices, but they can decide for themselves.  Here is a small sample they may begin with. The Teens Are All Right: 2011’s Top 5 YA Novels : NPR.

3. As for their choices and those of girls like them, I often wonder if they are receiving similar guidance from their teachers.  I expect that their language arts teachers and librarians are stoking the fires of readership with controversy, critique, and curiosity.  I hope that they are fostering my daughters’ interests and connecting them to other readers and authors, asking them to contribute to the world of books and the associated community.  I would be very pleased indeed to hear their learning experiences are like those described in this article by – http://mindshift.kqed.org/2011/12/life-in-a-21st-century-english-class/.

A slogan from long ago stated the “Reading is Fundamental“.  I am always rewarded by the ‘fun’ part and demand enrichment from the ‘mental’ part.  What about you?

Thanks for reading.

Next time, a weasel, an easel, and a diesel.

Leave a Reply

