51/365

Having a day off is a luxury.  It really is that simple.  Those of us who are employed by others and definitely those who work for themselves – we all find ourselves busy during the majority of days.  So, when a holiday or national observance gives us a moment to relax and regenerate, it is a privilege our efforts have earned. I know that I cherish them.  The days give me freedom to pursue my happiness in a variety of ways (including writing my oft neglected blog).

Today, I prepared a soup.  I have been cooking (or trying to) much more frequently this year.  It isn’t so much a resolution as it is a aspect of my role as husband and father that I want to improve.  The idea that my girls could one day select their partners informed by an image of Dad at the stove motivates me tremendously.  I also want to add ‘dancing with Mom in the kitchen’ but we may need a larger space to accommodate my moves.

Okay. Stop laughing.  On the menu this evening is a recipe I pulled from Working Mother magazine.  Yes, that’s right.  No shame because no one has told me where to find Domestic Dad on the rack.  Anyway, the soup is Sweet Potato-Corn Chowder with Avocado garnish.  The prep is fairly straight forward and the cooking time is under 40minutes.  I will probably also cook chicken tacos and serve with my new favorite chips – Garden of Eatin’ brand Red Hot Blues – and Sangría Señorial.

 


Sweet Potato-Corn Chowder with Avocado

Sweet Potato-Corn Chowder with Avocado (image from workingmother.com)

Hmmmm…Is it too early to start eating now?

Leave a Reply

